A Thank You Letter to The Moms Who Have Invited Me To Attend Their Births

Dear Amazing Women,
You have made my life better.

Meeting you and witnessing the birth of your child, as well as the birth of you as a mother has altered my life in such a positive and profound way, and I will never be able to thank you properly.  You may think I did something for you, and I hope I have, but YOU have done more for me than you may realize.

You have shown me how powerful the female body is.

You have given me the courage to trust in my own body and see it as a very special and sacred thing.

You challenged me to get outside of myself and to be very present in the moment.

You have brought magic into my life.

When I left your birth (and I am talking to every.single.one of you) I felt MAGICAL.  It’s the only word.  What you did with your body and your mind and your female super powers was utter magic.  And that you would invite me in as a witness makes me feel so, so special.  Really.  You have altered my view of the world- made it so much better – and you have busted my heart wide open to take in the magic that is all around us.

I went to a restorative yoga class tonight and thought about what I wanted to say to you.  I want to hug you and thank you and prostrate myself at your feet because I am truly not worthy.  But I am so, so grateful.  Thankful.  FULL.

I thought about each of you during my practice and I sent you love.  Each time I attend a birth, I carry you with me.  When things come up at a birth that I learned how to handle at your birth, I think of you.  When I go to the hospital or drive through the neighborhood where you live, I think of you and I send you love.  I look at pictures of your beautiful babies and send them love.

Whether we are still in contact, or life has gotten a little too busy, please know that I hold you in my heart and I am absolutely in love with you.  Because you are super badass!

I hope you have an abundant holiday season!

Love, love, love,

Kate

November 22, 2012. Birth, Doula Stuff.

One Comment

  1. Tara replied:

    Just read this… lovely my friend. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

