Katydid Did What?

When I was little, my favorite book was called Katydid Did It…I think.  I tried to find it online, but no luck.  I think it is sitting on my old book shelf back at my mom’s house and I’ll try to find it when I go home in May for my sister’s bach party/bridal shower weekend, because it’s really darling and you’d like it.

Anyway, it was my favorite book beacause it was about a little girl (bug) that always got blamed for stuff she didn’t do by her older brothers (also bugs).  Whenever they were playing baseball and broke a window, and mom (bug) said, “What happened??” the boys (bugs) would say in unison, “Katydid did it!” and she would be sent to her room.

The book ends with the brothers convicing Katydid to make a big chocolate cake for all of them to eat.  She does this and in the process she makes a mess of the kitchen (she’s just a little girl (bug) after all!), and when mom comes home to find the mess, she asks, “Who did this?” and the brothers all say, “Katydid did it!”  Katydid is sure she is in trouble, so she heads to her room, but mom is so overjoyed because the cake is beautiful (3 layers of chocolate cake and chocolate frosting with a cherry on top!!) that she kicks the boys out of the house so that she can enjoy the cake alone with Katydid.  The last line of the book is something like, “This time, Katydid DID do it, and she got to eat the cake.”

Katydid gets the ultimate victory at the end and she made her mama proud. It was the first time she was given some credit and I think if a second book was written, it would be about how Katydid went on to own those brothers, and how she started a business making cakes and put her brothers to work.  I think Katydid was a strong lady (bug) and “turning the other cheek” probably made her a better person (bug) in the end.

When thinking about the title for this blog, I went back to the stories of my childhood and Katydid immediately came to mind.  It works for me on a few levels: in college a dear friend took to calling me Katydid, so it’s a nickname of mine.  I DO a lot of different things, so you’ll get to see what Katydid does.  And it’s just kinda cute, right?

When I was thinking about my blog, I really wanted to be able to showcase all the things that I do from day to day.  Although I am not curing cancer or anything outstanding like that, I am engaging in what I would consider are a-typical lifestyle activities.

For example:

  • I live in Hollywood, California, which on it’s own is fodder for a blog!  So. Many. Freaks.
  • I am an actor and a Midwestern girl who is trying to figure out how to stay grounded whilst joining the madness of “The Biz”
  • I am pursuing my certification to become a Doula
  • I do a lot of crafting (knitting, sewing, embroidery) and cooking (vegan, mostly)
  • I manage the apartment building that my husband and I live in, so I have plenty of crazy tenant stories

If any of these things sound interesting to you, I hope you will return and read.  If not, that’s cool too!

Thanks for visiting.  Have a super day!

 

April 6, 2011. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Mr WordPress replied:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Katie replied:

    Yay! Blogtimes! I didn’t know you are going to be a doula! That is so interesting. Ok, we need to catch up – writing you an email right now.

  3. Angela Renee replied:

    can’t read all about your doings!!

    • Angela Renee replied:

      oops, meant, i “can’t wait” to read all about your doings:)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

