Santa Barbara

I am in Santa Barbara right now visiting my friends, Tara and Steve.  They are expecting their first baby (a boy!) in June and have asked me to be their Doula!  I am just starting the certification process, and as part of it, I need to see four births.  Tara had been looking to get a Doula, but didn’t want someone she didn’t know, so when I shared my news with her, it was a perfect match!

I have known Tara since we were wee ones.  We went to school together from first grade through high school and have kept in close contact ever since.  Tara and I are part of a Dynamic Foursome (not an official title), made complete by Kate and Rachel, who are holding down the fort in Illinois.  (Funny side note: Tara, Kate and Rachel are all married to men named Steve.  I missed the memo and married a Buck, but everyone is cool with it).  These ladies have been a source of consistency and love in my life since we were small and I smile everytime I get to tell someone, “I have been friends with fill-in-the-blank-with-one-or-all-of-their-names for over 20 years!”  How often does one get to say that?  I really value that our friendship has thrived over these years and that now I get to be a part of the next big chapter in Tara’s life- the birth of her son!

My husband and I love coming up to SB to visit.  Tara and Steve have made such a comfortable, warm home here and we always have a great time with them.   I drove up yesterday to attend a series of birth classes with them.  It’s three classes- last night, tonight and next Tuesday- and I am learning SO MUCH!  The female body is amazing, and if you are reading this and you are a woman, pat yourself on the back for having such an amazing body.  If you are a man and you are reading this, find a lady and hug her.  Tell her that you think she is cool, and pretty, and strong, because she is.

I will have tid bits to share when I get back tomorrow, but I just wanted to put down on blog that I am over the moon to be a part of Tara and Steve’s birth experience!

Rachel, Tara, Kate, Me

April 20, 2011. Doula Stuff, Friendship.

One Comment

  1. Tara Fergusson replied:

    We are too Katy!!! So fun to have you up, can’t wait for your next visit 🙂 And, congrats on the blog, I’ll definitely be stalking, and we know how Rachel likes blogs :). Much love, T

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

