10 Years

Tomorrow my husband and I celebrate 10 years together.  True, it’s just our “Dating Anniversary,” but reaching the double digits means something to me, so I am choosing to celebrate!  We aren’t going to do anything crazy.  In fact, I think he has a performance, and I am having a Royal Wedding get together, so the celebration is actually delayed until Saturday, when we are going to see Prince in concert (woot!).

I just wanted to take some blog space to talk about my husband and what an amazing guy he is.  We started dating when I was 18 and he was 21.  We met at Illinois State University, where we both went to college.  He was a senior and I was a freshman and we were both acting majors.  The first week of school, I went to see  the famed Improv Mafia perform.  At the end of the show, they played a game called “A Day in the Life” and asked for a volunteer.  For some reason, my hand shot up, and I went up to the front.  Unbeknownst to me, I had a little THO going on, and some guy muttered, “is it cold in here?”  Buck (then stranger, now husband) said to the guy, “We tell the jokes around here” and defended my honor!  I didn’t know about any of this until much later, but knowing that- even in the first budding moments of our life together- he was protecting me makes me smile.

Anyway, I sat down and told the story of my day to the Mafia members, and then returned to my seat.  Buck played me in the scene and they basically made fun of me for 5 minutes, but I have truly never laughed so hard in my life!  A few weeks later I auditioned and got into the group, and our friendship took off.

We were both in other relationships at the time, which allowed us to become very good friends.  We would take late night walks and talk for hours about everything.  I always felt a strong connection to him, and in fact one random day I was walking back to my dorm and I literally burst out laughing, startling a guy walking past me.  I had been thinking about Buck and something silly he did and I could not wipe the smile off my face.  I got back to my dorm and called my mom and then my best friend and told them both that I was going to marry Buck.  We weren’t dating, or had even discussed dating, but it didn’t matter.  I knew whole heartedly that I had found my “missing piece” and it would work itself out somehow.

Our story is definitely a cheesy one, but I love it.  I think on many levels we are a cheesy couple!  Buck makes me laugh more than anyone else in the world and allows me to be myself.  He doesn’t judge or gossip or have a mean bone in his body.  I admire him so much.  He’s my best friend and I am confident that the next 10 years will be even more beautiful- with a side of cheese.

Don't we look like babies?

April 29, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Katie replied:

    Congratulations, guys! You are both the sweetest, can’t wait to see y’all next week!

  2. michibolooki replied:

    I love this story and your blog!! :):)

  3. Birthday Resolutions « Katydid Did It replied:

    […] things to me, but right now, my closest family is my husband, Buck.  I have been with this man for 10 years- since I was a wee babe of 19- and I still learn new things about him all the time.  Our lives get […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

