Birthday Resolutions

Here is something about me you might not know:  I LOVE birthdays.  I don’t care whose birthday it is- I love celebrating them!  I am not totally sure why I get so amped about them, but if you have a birthday coming up, let me know about it and I will go bonkers for you!  I really love reaching milestones and birthdays are fun for so many reasons:

1.  There is often cake and I LOVE cake!

2.  Ice cream usually comes on the side (or INSIDE) of the cake, and ice cream is my FAVORITE!

3.  There is singing, and while I am not good at it, I do enjoy it.  I usually sing “Happy Birthday” really badly on purpose because I think it’s funny (and more fun).

4.  The day is all about YOU, and although I am not usually a “LOOK AT MEMEMEME” kind of person, on my birthday that all changes.  Maybe it’s BECAUSE I try not to get noticed in everyday life that my birthday feels like a great time to mix it up.  I don’t know.  I literally tell EVERYONE that it’s my birthday.  Today, when the maintenance guy said he needed to install my new toilet tomorrow, I told him that it will be my birthday.  Why?  Not sure.  He didn’t seem all that interested, but I thought it pertinent information.

I don’t get freaked out by birthdays.  Well, that’s a lie.  I did one time- when I turned 25.  I had that “oh-my-god-i-am-not-where-I-thought-I’d-be-at-25” freak out, which is just laughable now.

The other thing I love about my birthday in particular is that I share it with a really cool person: my little sister, Amy.  I am going to write a post about her tomorrow, but sharing my birthday with her is my favorite thing about the day (even more than the cake, ice cream, singing and MEMEME).

A few years ago, I started making 3 very specific resolutions on my birthday.  There are 3 categories and I choose a resolution to fit each one.  One year I printed them out, laminated them, and put them on the fridge because I am the type of person that needs that reminder everyday, and enjoys it, but I haven’t done that in a while.  Maybe I’ll try it again this year.  (To be clear, that is NOT one of my resolutions- just an idea).

Okay, here we go:

Professional

I’d like to become a certified Doula by the end of the calendar year, but certainly by this time next year.  I think this is going to require a lot of focus and dedication (SO much reading!), but I am loving it so far and think it’s achievable.

Family

Family means a lot of things to me, but right now, my closest family is my husband, Buck.  I have been with this man for 10 years– since I was a wee babe of 19- and I still learn new things about him all the time.  Our lives get so busy, so the thing I would like to do is become more intimate with my husband.  Yes, that has sexual connotations (sorry if you are grossed out Mom), but intimacy is much more than sex.  It’s about knowing each other and liking each other.  It’s about being close in a way that is secure and safe and in sync.  We definitely have the foundation for it, but having gone through a big move across the country and diving into LA life has been a huge change, and I know I can use some brush up in this area.  I am not yet sure how it will manifest, but I’d love any suggestions you have.

Self

Oh my, there are so many things I’d like to work on, and having just finished The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, my head is swimming with ideas.  But it can be overwhelming to pick 47 things, and likely I won’t do any of them very well, so here is just one that I will keep focused on no matter what: Treat my body like a temple.  I know that seems really hippy-dipppy and broad, but I like it.  It means “don’t put nasty chemicals in it or on it.”  It means “When you are feeling tired, go to sleep.”  And it also means, “When you are craving peanut butter, eat some, but not the nasty kind with nasty chemicals.”  I have faced the tough realization that I am not 19 anymore (sorry Buck!) and drinking until 4am leaves me puffy and cranky the next day.  I also realized that I would like to start a family in the next few years  (ready Buck?) and in order to have the best chance at having a healthy pregnancy (or any pregnancy at all), I need my body to be strong.  And if I am going to be a good role model for these future babies, the lesson of treating your body like a temple is one I’d like to teach.  So, I’ll start trying to master it now.

So there you have it.  Big goals for 29, but I think it will make for a nice challenge.

Do you do anything like this for your birthday?  I’d love to hear your birthday traditions!

May 4, 2011. Tags: , , . Doula Stuff, Friendship, Husband, Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Kate replied:

    Reading your blog, drinking my morning tea- almost felt like you were here with me in the kitchen. Made me miss you even more… Just realized you’re beginning your 30th year of life- so here’s to making this your best one yet, my friend!

  2. Lisa replied:

    I am totally with you on treating your body like a temple. Let’s encourage each other on that one! We’re worth it!

  3. kelly replied:

    hi, kate (you will always be katy in my mind). 🙂 you make me wish i had known you better. i knew you were cool and funny and super nice but there is so much more.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (to you and your sister, who will always be the 13 year old girl that looks exactly like you i met once in college).

    anyway, i read you blog today. it is pretty great, this birthday resolution thing you have going.

    If you want more doula peeps to know i have a few friends in IL that either are a doula or use them for all kids.

    treating your body like a temple is good as long as you get to enjoy cake and ice cream for every birthday you encounter (yay cake!)

    have fun with the intimacy thing. i get to re-learn kyle soon so if you think of anything good let me know, i will do the same. 🙂

    anyway, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! and thanks for sharing. 🙂
    (totally excited to see your babies someday…)

  4. Angela Renee replied:

    babies?! what? can’t wait to see little K&B munchkins.

    love the idea for the resolutions. going to try that this year & i’ll definitely need to laminate:)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

