Happy Birthday!

On Friday, May 27th at 3:56pm I watched my friend of over 20 years bravely bring her son, Caden, into the world.  I like to think of it as a birthday for Caden, and my birthday as a Doula!  It was such a blessing to be a part of this amazing process and I am so grateful.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: the female body is remarkable and awe-inspiring.

I knew driving to meet Tara and Steve that by the the end of the weekend I would know if being a Doula was the right thing for me.  I felt excited, scared, and anxious.  Will I know what to say when Tara is in pain?  What will I do if there are complications?  Can I remain composed yet still be open to the emotions I am feeling?  The night before her induction, I reviewed my notes like a madwoman, hoping to absorb more information.

I am pleased to report that not only did the birth go very well for all involved, but my desire to doula is stronger than ever.  I learned SO much, and while I know there are lots of things I could have done differently or better, I know that this path is the right one for me.

I am still processing the experience and will have a better update soon.

In the meantime, I am trying to find the right name for my Doula business…it’s like naming a child!   I want it to convey the right message about me, my respect for the process, and yet not be too cheesy or salesmanshippy.  All thoughts and suggestions are welcome!

 

May 29, 2011. Doula Stuff, Friendship.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

