Food I do: My Favorite Summer Recipe

My head has been swirling with information and it’s a little overwhelming, so I am going to post my favorite recipe of all time in an act of pressure release for my brain, and this blog.  You dig?

So, without further delay, here it is:

Black Bean and Roasted Corn Salad

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
kernels from 4 ears or corn or I use 1 16 oz bag of organic frozen sweet corn (if you use frozen, put the bag in the fridge on the morning that you are going to make the dish so that it thaws).
salt and fresh black pepper
1 clove minced garlic
1 15 oz can black beans
1 ripe tomato, cored and diced
1 tsp minced jalapeno or other small chile (I use an entire jalapeno because I like it spicy!)
2 tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice (I use an entire lime)
1 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 medium avocado, peeled, pitted and chopped
1/2 cup crumbled queso fresco (I don’t use this, and you won’t for a vegan version)

Prepare all of your ingredients ahead of time because you will add them quickly once you get started.

Put the oil in a large nonstick skillet over  medium high heat.  Add the corn, along with a large pinch of salt and some pepper, and cook, shaking the pan or stirring, but only occasionally, until the corn is lightly charred, 5-10 minutes (your house will smell so good!).  Resist the urge to stir the corn.  The longer it is able to sit still and char, the better this will taste.  Add the garlic and cook, stirring for 1 minute more.

Add the beans, tomato, jalapeno, and lime juice to the pan and stir.  Let sit over heat for one minute more.  Taste and adjust the seasoning.  Garnish with cilantro, avocado and cheese, and serve;  or cover and refrigerate for up to a couple of hours.

Before I went Vegan, I would add shrimp to this dish and it was tasty.  My husband calls this a “dip” but I call it a salad.  I often eat this as my meal by putting it over lettuce greens and topping with salsa.  This afternoon, I ate it with a side of mango salsa, guacamole, and chips!

This recipe comes from the fantastic cook book How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman.  My sister, Chris, gave me this book for Christmas many years ago and I let it sit unopened for probably 2 years before I had the courage to dive in.  It has 996 pages, no pictures, and TONS of information.  My favorite section is the history of the eggplant.   Did you know that the eggplant is in the same family as the tabacco plant?!  Get the book and YOU TOO could have this useless information to impress your friends!

June 3, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Lisa replied:

    You gave me this recipe awhile back and it has since become one of my favorites, too! I have served it as both a dip and a side dish. Delish!!

  2. Chris replied:

    Will you make this for us when you come to Illinois?
    Yes you will? Oh thank you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

