List #5

I am super loving my weekly list making for the 52 Lists/52 Weeks project I am participating through the fun blog, Get The Words Out.  Kellie is so creative and fun and I am so glad she put this together for us.

I missed a week along the way (I blame June for being so insane), so ignore the fact that I jumped from #3 to #5 (I’ll get an extra one in there to get to 52).  Also, ignore the fact that I went rogue for the first 3 lists.  I did not read closely enough to realize that Kellie is setting the theme each week, which is actually nice because I was struggling to come up with my own list themes.

Anyway, I really like this week’s list and it actually accomplishes one of lists I planned to do on last weeks “List of Lists I Want to Make.”

List #5- A Waiting List of Books

I decided to make my list into a bookmark (which I plan to laminate*) so that I can always remember the titles I want to get through, even when reading other books that are not on the list.  I would like to get through these in one year.  Giving myself a year to read 7 books may seem like more than enough, but I am in two book clubs, so I am reading 2 books a month anyway, and the odds of any of my book club books being on this book list is slim.  Also, these are books that have been on my shelf for at least 2 years (except the Doula related books) and for some reason I have been putting them off.  Why?  I don’t know- they are all books that have solid reputations.  I just get all “look at the kitty” when picking a book  (aka: distracted) so if something doesn’t grab me in the first 5-10 pages, I’m outtie.  Well, NO MORE!  I am giving these a fair shake and finishing them!

Here is the list:

Lamb: The Gospel According To Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama

Franny and Zooey by JD Salinger

The Nursing Mother’s Companion by Kathleen Huggins

Chuck Klosterman IV: A Decade of Curios People and Dangerous Ideas by Chuck Klosterman

The Doula Book: How a Trained Labor Companion Can Help You Have a Shorter, Easier, and Healthier Birth by Klaus, Kennell, and Klaus

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by David Eggers

*I love laminating things

July 4, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. amy replied:

    fabulous idea…i might even do this myself…….and the audacity of hope will prob be on it! whooo!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

