Cabbage in your CSA?

When I lived in Chicago I belonged to a CSA through Growing Home.  I loved the experience so much and when we moved out to California, I figured these would be even more popular.  The CSA I belong to here is called Farm Fresh to You and I really like it.  They do use a little more packaging than I would like, but the produce is always fantastic.  Plus, it’s delivered to my door!

My BFF Kate just joined a CSA back in our hometown of Mundelein and I am thrilled about it, even if she isn’t  =)  I think a CSA forces you to get creative with your meals and try food you normally would not.  Plus, she has young kids that, whether they realize it or not, are expanding their repertoire just by SEEING a head of cabbage.  Seeing mom and dad eat it up?  Even BETTER!

So, in honor of Kate and her commitment to giving her family healthy, clean food, here is a recipe I like a lot that using cabbage and tastes DELICIOUS!  It’s even better as left overs the next day.

Fried Udon Noodles from The Kind Diet, by Alicia Silverstone

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1 eight oz package of udon noodles (I like to buy fresh, buckwheat noodles from Whole Foods Market, but dried noodles work fine.  if you use fresh noodles, skip the first cooking step).

2 Tablespoons olive oil

2 cups sliced green cabbage

1 cup half-moon onion slices (I use a white or yellow onion)

2 tsp finely chopped garlic

3/4 tsp sea salt

3/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

1 1/2 Tablespoon sweet paprika (I just use regular paprika because I already have too many varieties of paprika and just can’t buy another…)

Chopped parsley for garnish (I am not a fan of parsley, so I skip this)

**I also add some tofu to this dish so that there is a protein element, so feel free to do the same, or add any other kind of protein you like. **

***Got some bok choy you aren’t sure what to do with?  This dish is a great one to throw it into!***

Instructions:

1.  Prepare you udon noodles as directed on the package.  If you buy fresh noodles, you get to skip onto the next step!

2.  Heat 1 Tablespoon of the olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet.  Add the cabbage and cook for about 15 minutes, until it is tender.  If the cabbage begins to stick, add a tablespoon of water.  I like when it gets a little stuck and “burnt.”

3.  In a separate pan, heat the remaining oil over medium heat and ad the onions, garlic, salt, pepper and paprika.  Once the onions are translucent, add mixture to the cabbage and stir to combine.  If the onions start to stick while you are cooking them, add a touch of water.

4.  Once your noodles are cooked and drained, toss noodles into skillet with the onion mixture and cabbage.

5.  Add any protein you have prepared.  Toss together. Serve!

This dish is Asian inspired, but doesn’t have a lot of strong Asian flavor.  The cabbage releases a lot of flavor without making your home smell like stinky socks.

Enjoy!

July 19, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Katie replied:

    Last year was our first CSA, and it was completely overwhelming. We get veggies from Angelic Organics, which is awesome, but the boxes are HUGE. So this year I was so excited that they offered an every-other-week option. So the box is still huge, but it’s much more manageable!

    We will definitely be using this cabbage recipe!

  2. Kellie replied:

    hey, just wanted to let you know that your guest post was up on my blog!! thanks again! -kel
    http://getthewordsout.blogspot.com/2011/07/52-lists-in-52-weeks-week-8-guest-post.html

  3. Sonia Trivedi Singhal replied:

    Hi Kate! Just discovered your blog as I was googling Ana Paula Markels song that she taught us in class! Love your blog, sweetheart! My two bits on Farm Fresh to You: I had a rep come to my door and we totally connected. Next thing I know I had a package at my door which was awesome. The not so awesome part was that I had never ordered it and told the rep I wanted to think about it and discuss it with my roomies. They sent me an invoice anyways and wouldn’t let me cancel their subscription till I paid. Not so fair in my opinion. =/

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

