What is Support?

Starting today, I am waking up 2 hours early to study Doula stuff.  There is so much to learn and I just need to carve out some quiet morning time when the phone isn’t ringing to make this a priority.  Because I want to.  And because I need to.

So, this morning Buck and I woke up early, I made a quinoa breakfast thing from the Trader Joes cookbook I am borrowing from Michelle (will share recipe this week), and we set about doing our work.

One of the first pages in my binder from my training class has a page that says this:

What is Support?

Support it unconditional.

It is listening…

not judging, not telling your own story.

Support is not offering advice…

it is offering a handkerchief, a touch, a hug…caring.

We are here to help women discover what they are feeling…

not to make the feelings go away.

We are here to help a woman identify her options…

not to tell her which options to choose.

We are here to disucss steps with a woman…

not to take the steps for her.

We are here to help a woman discover her own strength…

not to resuce her and leave her still vulnerable.

We are here to help a woman discover she can help herself…

not to take that responsibility for her.

We are here to help a woman learn to choose…

not to make it unnecessary for her to make difficult choices.

– Anonymous

I love this.

As a middle child and an older sister, I have trained myself to turn the other cheek, and to get the work done, and to fill in the gaps when they arise.  But I realize that this behavior isn’t always the healthiest for me, nor the most helpful for my partners.

“We are here to help a woman discover she can help herself…not to take that responsibility from her.”

What beautiful work this is!

August 8, 2011. Tags: , . Doula Stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

