List #14

Are you tired of hearing about how much I love my husband?  Well, TOO BAD because this week’s list is all about him for two reasons:

1.  I totally lurve him

and

2.  Our third wedding anniversary is today!

So here we go: 

Things I love about Buckler

He walks WITH me.  I stress the “with” because while he does literally WALK with me, my intention behind this line is that he walks WITH me (in life).  I am more of a control freak than he is, and on occasion I will grind to a halt (literally and figuratively) and yell, “Wait, wait, wait- WHAT???” and he’ll have to stop, reassure, and get me back on the track.  And he is SO good at this.

The early days of our journey

The man is a gentle soul.  He is so kind and loving to everyone- even the crapsters that think tipping $4.37 on $75 is acceptable (it’s not).

Even Richard Simmons loves him!

He is talented.  This isn’t WHY I love him, but it is truly awesome to be able to sit in the audience and watch him work.  And I truly love to watch him work.  His love for his art is so clear- it’s exhilarating to witness.  Performing with him is something I miss, but perhaps someday the right roles will come along (and if not, there is always The Goat…)

Buck in Assasins

He loves his family.  Before we were officially dating, I heard Buck tell his dad over the phone that he loved him, and I was floored.  The boys I hung with were “too cool” to say that to their parents, and I fell even more in love with him when I heard those words.

Buck with his brother, Rob, all the nieces, and Peggy!

He’ll try anything!  The boy is always up for an adventure and if it involves cake, he’ll do just about anything.  He is so much fun to be around!

Riding ATV's on our honeymoon

He let me dump tea on his head.   Have I told you this story?  Forgive me if I have…A little while back we were “at odds” and could not get over the great divide of whatever we were arguing about.  I had been drinking tea and it grew cold eventually.  We were sitting quietly and I was trying to think of a way to break past the tension and I imagined myself dumping my mug of tea on his head, and naturally started giggling.  God bless this boy- he let me do it.  And we laughed.  Like, for an hour.  The kind of laughing that is deep and feels so good because you need it so bad.  To this day, when we find ourselves “at odds,” Buck will ask- in a totally serious tone of voice- “Do you need to dump something on my head?”  And I fall deeper in love.

Poor head! (Buck was SUPER sick in this picture)

And the main thing that I love about this guy:  He is true blue.  When you are friends with Buck, you have a friend for life.  Making our wedding guest list was torture because Buck wanted to invite EVERYONE he ever met- and I do mean EVERYONE- because he loves people!  He loves friends!  When he says he is going to do something, he does it.  When you tell him a secret, it’s locked in a vault.  When you need to cry, Buck will listen, make you laugh, and then “hug out the wah’s.”  The man is true to his core and I feel incredibly lucky to have him as my mate.

Buck with Groomsmen

So, Buckler, thank you for being my best friend for 10 years.  Being married to you for the past 3 years has been a dream come true and there is no one I’d rather travel this road with.  You make me feel beautiful and loved in ways I never imagined.

Even when I look like this!

To the moon and back.

Thank you for loving me!

September 7, 2011. Tags: , , . 52 lists, 52 weeks, family, Friendship, Husband.

3 Comments

  1. Katie replied:

    This post brought tears to my eyes! I love the tea story. Happy Anniversary! Miss you guys!

  2. theskyandback replied:

    Aw, congrats. Love the wedding picture…you look so pretty!

  3. rheabette replied:

    This is a great post all around, but what really sealed its awesomeness is that pic of your husband and Richard Simmons!! What?! So amazing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

